We’re back, and we’re married!

Image

As you might have noticed, we kind of took an unplanned vacation from our little blog the past few weeks. But there was so much going on with marrying, moving, and honeymooning that post writing kept getting bumped farther down our never ending to do list. Let’s be honest, we were just enjoying life in the moment, and sometimes it’s best to put the keyboard down and just soak up all the goodness and joy that you can. Then you can worry about remembering it later. So, this first post back is a lot of remembering (and writing down for future remembering).

A lot has happened since our last entry, so we’ll take it bit by bit. First: the wedding. Because it was more beautiful than we could have imagined and more fun than we hoped it would be. But why don’t you just have a look-see for yourselves because our rock star photographer out did her spectacular self. (There are more lovely photos on her website.)

Image

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.08.02 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.08.13 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.08.23 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.08.48 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.05.29 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.07.12 PM

We count ourselves blessed to have such an amazing group of friends and family to stand by our sides on our wedding day. You guys and gals were so sweet to pitch in and help set up and clean up and everything else up. You always make us laugh (which is great for calming nerves), and we love you all!

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.09.28 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.09.19 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.06.59 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.11.16 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.11.32 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.07.43 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.11.57 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.12.06 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.13.27 PM

I keep trying to pin point my one favorite moment from the day, but I can never decide. Maybe it’s the long walk down where I waited and waited for L to look up at me, but he didn’t until the very last moment because (as I found out later) he was fighting back tears — the good ones. Or maybe it was hearing his vows that he wrote especially for me and how perfectly they matched up with mine. Or it might be the end of the ceremony when we took communion in honor of the greatest love we’ve ever known. (And also when L tore off a rather large bite of bread that we had to stand there and chew for what felt like five minutes while everyone watched. He always finds a way to make me smile. On purpose or on accident.) Or maybe it was just after communion when my brother and sister-in-law were singing and L and I got to have our own quiet conversation staring into each other’s eyes.

See? Tough decisions. Again, the good kind.

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.10.34 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.12.50 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.09.49 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.10.46 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.13.03 PM

Another aspect of our wedding day that I loved was the work that went into it. We took on quite a few DIY projects, such as the doily runners, the flower arrangements and bouquets, pretty much all of the decorations, the corn hole game, the honey favors, and others I’m forgetting. And by we, I don’t just mean L and me. Our wedding was truly a group effort by so many people we love and appreciate. My cousin did most of the flowers. Her daughter did my hair (she’s got some talent, too, because I chopped it off two weeks earlier, and it still looks miles long with that crown braid). Families from our local church helped water flowers. My grandmother and mom helped sew the table runners. L made the corn hole boards. Even one of my dearest friends’ boyfriend (she was a bridesmaid, but he came as a guest) helped my brother hang the handkerchief bunting and even sprinkled flower petals down the aisle on the morning of.

It was a lot of time and work (and we realize it isn’t feasible for every wedding), but I am so grateful for the love and support from everyone who pitched in. It truly made it our wedding. As I looked around, it was like our wedding day was covered in fingerprints from all of the people we love.

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.09.39 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.06.19 PM Screen shot 2013-06-04 at 2.13.16 PM

And this handsome gentleman is now the one I call hubs. Pinch me. (Love you, L) -C

Full disclosure: These stunning photos are only from our sneak peek, so we reserve the right to do another post once we get rest of them. (;

4 thoughts on “We’re back, and we’re married!

  1. Your wedding was absolutely and positively beautiful! Everything looks so perfect and the photos are stunning. Congratulations to you both! I’m so happy that I stumbled across your blog :)

    • Thank you so much! I wouldn’t change a single thing about that day — even setting out tablecloths in the morning rain (which made me nervous at the time, but it made the day perfectly sunny and cool). Happy reading! -C

  2. Pingback: “Give me somethin’ fun to do, like a life of lovin’ you” | chantelleelace

  3. Pingback: “I am so in love with you; there is no one else for me.” | chantelleelace

Leave a Reply

